Contrasts

“How could I adopt Northup’s technique of using contrasts?”

Solomon Northup, a free-born black man who had been kidnapped and forced into slavery for twelve years, used amazing contrasts in his autobiography (Twelve Years a Slave). This made for a very entertaining read. In my autobiography I want to use contrasts, mainly because it helps to give more insights into a person’s life.

How could I adopt Northup’s technique? I would probably re-read several times Northup’s book, especially those passages that contained the contrasts. This would lead to an analysis of how Northup used his contrasts. Also, I would have to know the lives and situations of people that lived in my time so that I could see the differences between our lives.

2 Replies to “Contrasts”

  1. For what I read you are planning to write your Autobiography one day. I hope to read it.
    The use of contrasts is something I never thought before. Thanks.

    Like

Leave A Reply-

