Selling Your Soul To The Devil

“Why has this theme (selling your soul to the devil) remained popular since 1587?”

Well, honestly, I don’t really know how popular the theme is. In the late 16th century, Christopher Marlowe wrote a play/book called Dr. Faustus. It is about a man who sells his soul to the devil to gain all physical desires. I didn’t enjoy the book, or the subject, but maybe that’s just me.

Supposing the subject is popular, I guess it would be because it focuses on the choices people make. Life is all about choices, and this subject brings the choice: will I sell my soul to the devil for the satisfaction of physical desires or not? It might keep you in suspense regarding whether or not the person realizes his mistake, how he deals with it, can he get out of his trouble? This, I guess, would be what makes the subject popular.

Personally, however, I don’t find the subject interesting or attractive. What do you think? Is it popular? If so, why is it? Leave a comment below!!!

8 Replies to “Selling Your Soul To The Devil”

  1. Es un tema que, como a tí, no me interesa casi nada. Supongo que durante siglos se temió al diablo, etc. La iglesia católica lo promovió. El miedo es la emoción más tóxica.

    Like

  2. In the Left Behind series, which takes place after The Rapture, the Antichrist sold his soul to Satan, and he was promised to sit alongside him. Of course, the Devil is the biggest liar and deceiver of them all, and when he was assassinated (in the book series, of course), he said “I..I did everything you asked” before collapsing in his pool of blood. This may or may not be the case when the real Antichrist rises. At least I’ll be gone when that happens.

    Like

  3. Well, I’d say because it creates really cool scenarios. In Marvel’s “Ghost Rider”, Johnny Cage Sold his soul to the devil to save his fathers life, then the devil mercilessly murdered his father. And when Johnny sold his soul, he swore to be the devils messenger and collector of souls. Later on, Johnny finds out he is the Ghost Rider, and can basically do a bunch of cool stuff. Ghost Rider is a basically a skeleton that’s on fire, wearing leather clothes. And he rides a bike. Anyway, I like the idea, in a story it can really challenge a hero, and push them to their limits, but I think its become more popular with “Ghost Rider” due to Marvel being a large movie making and comic industry.

    Like

Leave A Reply-

