Trust In Business Relationships

Is trust an important component in business relationships? My answer is absolutely! And really, trust is key in any relationship. Let’s just stick to business ones for now, though. It doesn’t really matter if you are an employee, a waiter, a small business owner, a billionaire or self-employed, but if you don’t establish trust in your relationships, you will not get things done.

In business, you are always involved with people. So, relationships are the foundation for running your business, getting a job or selling someone your product. As you probably know from experience, if your friend or colleague does not think you a telling the truth or that you have a double motive, they won’t do what you want, help you or work with you. It’s a problem.

That’s why the first thing you have to work on is establishing trust in your relationships-at home, with friends and at work. At my job, my employer trusts me and I trust her. When someone gives me a task, I do it as best I can and if I make a mistake, I learn and do not make it a second time. This helps her to trust me.

Without trust not only business relationships, but all relationships, can’t go far. It’s like a dead-end. Trust is the key to successful business relations.


I’d also like to add a word on the book I just finished for this course (Business I). It’s called How to Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie (1936). The book is an amazing book on…well, how to win friends and influence people. If any book from this course is a must-have—this is the one. The book is easy to read, applicable not only to business, but to your personal life and fairly “easy” to implicate (if you set your mind to it). It gives you principles that are sort of obvious, but ones that you never do. I highly recommend this book to anybody.

4 Replies to “Trust In Business Relationships”

Leave A Reply-

