Business

You need several things to succeed in business. Personality wise, you need to be organized, driven, and able to set goals and get them done. You need to have vision—what the business will look like in so many years, how you want it. You must be motivated and uplifting in order to accomplish. And you need to have some know-how.

Over the last nine months I have learned a lot about business, from my school course and real life. I have learned skills like marketing, building websites, dealing with people, and so much more from school. And since I was fourteen I have worked at a small business in my town. This has given me a great opportunity to see a small business in action, to be a part, but also to learn valuable skills in dealing with people, solving problems, dealing with stress and time restrictions, getting stuff done well, and also the reward: your pay.

Also, my sister has her own business (www.ashleysbread.wordpress.com). I have been able to see her learn, struggle and succeed in her business. I have also learned a lot from seeing her in action. Thanks, sis!

Owning your own business is very rewarding. And although I like working at my job, owning a business gives you freedom. It also gives you a lot more responsibility. But that makes the reward of success so much better.

I am starting my own business selling jewelry that I make. I am working on a website and getting it up and running.  I am enjoying doing this, even though it’s quite a challenge. I always liked doing web design and the like, but it’s a lot harder than I thought when you have to actually start from scratch!

The most important thing is to love what you do. If you don’t you won’t succeed. My sister loves baking. I love making jewelry (I hope I’ll succeed). So, whatever you do, whatever you’re doing, remember to, if possible, love what you do and succeed!


Two books I’ve learned a lot from (both of which I own and strongly recommend):

-Dale Carnegie’s How to Win Friends and Influence People

-Donald J. Trump’s The Art of the Deal

13 Replies to “Business”

Leave A Reply-

